Latest News
  • 23 Jun 2016 – Channel 6: New Solar System Internet Technology (Interview)
  • 21 Jun 2016 – New Solar System Internet Technology debuts on ISS - DUTH contribution is acknowledged by NASA
  • 28 Sep 2015 – NASA officially thanks SPICE team for its contribution to the Interplanetary Overlay Network (ION) system
  • 03 Jun 2015 – The kick-off meeting of SENSKIN project was successfully held in Athens, Greece.
  • 26 Feb 2015 – The kick-off meeting of UMOBILE project was successfully held in the premises of the Engineering Department, University College of London, UK.
External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board (EAB) is another entity that can provide input to the project administration by evaluating and advising on the progress of the project, outlining issues that may not have occurred till then, and proposing guidelines on the evolution of the project. The members of EAB are distinguished scientists in areas covered by the SPICE project.

Members of the advisory board are:

  • Jon Crowcroft (Head of Cambridge Computing Activity) is the Marconi Professor of Networked Systems in the Computer Laboratory of the University of Cambridge. The Networks and Operating Systems group, headed by Prof. Jon Crowcroft, has four main areas: a Public Computer Platform, Open Mobile Systems, Understanding Networks through Measurement and How Policy and Economics interact with Communication.
  • Torsten Braun has been a professor of Computer Science at the Institute of Computer Science and Applied Mathematics at the University of Bern (Switzerland) since 1998, where he is heading the CNDS research group. He is currently performing research in (delay-tolerant) transport and routing protocols for wireless multi-hop networks as well as for peer- to-peer based overlay networks.
  • Scott Burleigh from NASA JPL. Dr Burleigh was the Director of "EPOXI" project where DTN was actually deployed in Space and the author of LTP transmission protocol. Scott Burleigh can provide experience and expertise gained from his involvement in the NASA funded project "EPOXI".
  • Eytan Modiano, a Professor at MIT Aeronautics and Astronautics with expertise in DTN routing. Mr Modiano can provide valuable experience and directions for DTN routing.
  • Anthony Crowson is technical staff in VEGA Deutschland GmbH & Co KG. He has worked on a range of space mission ground segment projects over the last 20 years in Consultancy, Technical and Project Management, and Engineering roles. His experience includes Ground Segment consultancy for ESA and EUMETSAT, mission control centres for ESA and DLR, and related infrastructure, data distribution, ground station systems, standardisation and harmonisation work.
  • Georgia Tzenou is National Contact Point for FP7 Research Potential projects and a member of the National Documentation Center.
  • Spiros Mavridis is Head of Industry, Energy and Natural Resources Development in the Development Directorate of East Macedonia and Thrace.

In the first meeting, the committee will focus on the research directions of the group, along with the recruited personnel, while during the second meeting, the progress of the project will be evaluated and any necessary adjustments will be proposed.